Philosophy is defined as a theory underlying or regarding a sphere of activity or thought. Well, my theory is if I can add at least 10 new books to my Wishlist and move at least 5 older Wishlist selections to my TBR list every month, then life is a ice cream sundae. And if I can find those 10 books from at least 5 new blogs each month then that's the cherry on top.


Well, I've made it almost 5 years now, so for better or worse, I continue on. I tend to blog in spurts as the urge to be creative erupts. As I don't have an artistic bone in my body, you will see very few changes in the layouts. Hey, I'm a reader not an artist like so many of the awesome bloggers I follow. I know you don't always have the time but if you stopped and looked, take a half a minute and say your piece. Recommend a book that you have enjoyed or hated for that matter. Thank you to all who visit.
Oh, and I moved my Google Friend Connect info and share this buttons to the top, as without our friends, who are we?

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

A Sinful Deception by Isabella Bradford Blog Tour & Review 4 *

For fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries: the seductively charming second historical romance in Isabella Bradford’s Breconridge Brothers trilogy.

Lord Geoffrey Fitzroy leads a charmed existence. As the second son of the Duke of Breconridge, he has none of the responsibilities of his older brother and all of the advantages, leaving handsome Geoffrey free to enjoy his rakish pursuits. And pursue them he does, leaving hearts fluttering all over London. But one night, at a ball brimming with high society’s most sought-after beauties, only one truly intrigues him: the regal, aloof, and mysterious Miss Serena Carew.
Magnificently dressed and wearing jewels befitting a queen, the lady is considered the prize of the season: a noble-born heiress raised in India. But even as Geoffrey’s fascination grows, Serena deflects his curiosity—and with good reason. Serena’s exotic past contains a perilous secret that could destroy her. Yet her plan to live in safe solitude is thwarted by her hungry heart, and soon Geoffrey’s passionate seduction finds her blissfully bedded—and wed. Will her deception destroy her chance at happiness as Geoffrey’s wife? Or will the devotion of her new husband bring out the hidden truth of her undying love?

Though I usually won't read books out of sequence, it did not diminish my enjoyment of this book one bit. I will go back and read book one as Gus and Harry's romance obviously had it's ups and down too and I so enjoyed their addition to the story.
Serena grew up in India and the flashbacks of her life there were an awesome addition to the story-line. I do wish that we hadn't learned Serena's secret quite so early in the book. I think it would have added to the suspense to have come out later in the book. I love seeing if I can figure it out before the author reveals it.
The fact that Geoffrey and Serena both had no intentions of marrying
added to the sexual tension as fate intervened to push these two together. It was obvious that they loved one another and I loved how supportive of Serena that Geoffrey was.   
The descriptions of the elaborate clothing, parties, food, and homes were fabulous. I so love to "see" these while enjoying a good read. I don't think I've read as many historicals romances from the 1770's as I have from the 1800's and this was a welcome change. I'll definitely pick up book three when it comes out in June.
ARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley
Breconridge Brothers
1. A Wicked Pursuit (2014)
2. A Sinful Deception (2015)
3. A Reckless Desire (2015)

Isabella Bradford is a pseudonym for Susan Holloway Scott, the award-winning author of more than forty historical novels and historical romances. Her bestselling books have been published in nineteen countries and translated into fourteen languages, with more than three million copies in print. Along with fellow author Loretta Chase, Isabella also writes as half of the Two Nerdy History Girls ( an entertaining history blog that is also on Twitter (@2nerdyhistgirls) and Pinterest ( She is a graduate of Brown University, and lives with her family outside of Philadelphia.

No comments: